Amnesia

mr_bumpIn Book Three, Lucy suffers from Amnesia.

Obviously, I can’t tell you how it happens – well,  spoilers sweetie! But it’s violent and traumatic and not (directly) the result of travelling through the distortion.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t expect to find it as fascinating as I have, and I’ve had to be very disciplined not to dive in too deeply, because I’m not writing a book about trauma I’m writing fiction. So:  for the purposes of my research, I’m ignoring  amnesia caused by psychological  trauma and concentrating on what happens as a a result of physical injury.

In this case there are two types of memory loss: retrograde amnesia, forgetting things that happened before the accident which has caused the amnesia, and anterograde amnesia (where the past is crystal clear but things happening now cannot be remembered).

 

amnesia2

Anterograde amnesia was not what I was looking for. Lucy is is danger because for once her encyclopedic knowledge of history cannot help her. Therefore, she has a kind of  retrograde amnesia known as post trumatic amnesia. You see Lucy’s memory loss is only temporary, unlike those who have retrograde amnesia who may have partial recall or gradual recall but rarely is the full loss restored.

Obviously, Lucy can’t lose her memory for ever, so what triggers its return?

Hollywood would have us believe a second blow to the head will bring the memories back; sometimes repeating a similar action – restores the memory of the prior event – a bit like deja vu, only in reverse.   Like putting the final set of pieces back in the jigsaw that is the brain.

 

061

At the moment, I don’t know if I want Lucy’s memory to return over time, or suddenly, which is holding up writing book three.

All I do know is that it has to return before she is murdered.

 

chalk-body-outline-murder-scene

2 comments on “Amnesia

  1. She needs a proper memory to be murdered successfully? 🙂
    The most effective memory restorations I have come across in fiction have been those which appear suddenly and fully in the course of some action so that the person isn’t even aware of it for a while. This might work in this case – reflexes come first, and realisation of why they happened, later.

    • You’ve given me an idea!!!! Cheers 🙂
      Lucy can’t get it back too early though. I want the reader shouting at her, a bit like you do when the heroine does something stupid (like go upstairs) in a horror film. I did think -briefly – (very briefly) about a Cinderella like kiss, but that’s just too twee. Yep the more I think about it; it just might work *sends hug*

Leonardo da Vinci said: “Nothing strengthens authority so much as silence.” ― please comment...

